CNDM. Zahir Ensemble

7 november, 2011 - 7:30 PM
Associated project Live Arts
Nouvel Building, Auditorium 400
Related links
CNDM. Zahir Ensemble
CNDM. Zahir Ensemble

With the idea of highlighting new national groups specialised in contemporary repertoires, the Centro Nacional de Difusión Musical (CNDM) is presenting the young Zahir Ensemble as part of its Series 20/21. Under the direction of Juan García Rodríguez, the group, founded in 2005 and based in Seville, will perform three recent pieces: Equinox(2010) by Héctor Parra, who recently won the Ernst von Siemens Prize for musical composition; a new version (2011) – a commission of the Andalusian group – of the “work in progress” Arquitecturas del límite(2005) by José María Sánchez-Verdú, and the polyrhythms and obsessive sounds of Son of Chamber Symphony (2008) by the American composer John Adams. The program is completed with Éthers, and its evanescent sonority, which was written in 1978 by the French spectralist Tristan Murail.


Héctor Parra (1976) 
Equinox (2010) 
Tristan Murail (1947) 
Éthers (1978) 
José María Sánchez-Verdú (1968) 
Arquitecturas del límite (2005-11) (New version commissioned by Zahir Ensemble) 
John Adams (1947) 
Son of Chamber Symphony (2008)